Bug 916273 - [RHEL 3] 2013 tzdata updates needed for changes in Chile's DST
Summary: [RHEL 3] 2013 tzdata updates needed for changes in Chile's DST
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED ERRATA
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 3
Classification: Red Hat
Component: tzdata
Version: 3.9
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Linux
unspecified
urgent
Target Milestone: rc
Assignee: Petr Machata
QA Contact: qe-baseos-daemons
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On: 912521
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2013-02-27 17:05 UTC by Petr Machata
Modified: 2018-12-01 16:55 UTC (History)
6 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of: 912521
Environment:
Last Closed: 2013-03-14 13:22:09 UTC
Target Upstream Version:


Attachments (Terms of Use)


Links
System ID Private Priority Status Summary Last Updated
Red Hat Product Errata RHEA-2013:0615 0 normal SHIPPED_LIVE tzdata enhancement update 2013-03-14 18:16:56 UTC

Description Petr Machata 2013-02-27 17:05:34 UTC
+++ This bug was initially created as a clone of Bug #912521 +++

Chile's Government has announced they will extend their summertime again in 2013, much like 2012.

Winter time will come into force on April 27th, Saturday, at 24:00 hs (meaning the clock turns back 60 minuts into April 27th, Saturday, 23:00).

Summer time will come into force on September 7th, Saturday, at 24:00 (meaning the clock will jump 60 minuts forward, into September 8th, Sunday, at 01:00).

Please note that Chile has two timezones, one for continental and Antartica regions, and another one for Easter Islands region. Changes are the same, only that in the latter region, changes take place at 22:00 of the same days (jumping back to 21:00 on April 27th, and forward to 23:00 on September 7th).

Official announcement: http://www.minenergia.cl/ministerio/noticias/generales/gobierno-anuncia-fechas-de-cambio-de-953.html

Official website: http://www.horaoficial.cl/cambio.htm

Steps to reproduce:

# zdump -v 'America/Santiago'  | grep 2013

Actual results:

America/Santiago  Sun Mar 10 02:59:59 2013 UTC = Sat Mar  9 23:59:59 2013 CLST isdst=1 gmtoff=-10800
America/Santiago  Sun Mar 10 03:00:00 2013 UTC = Sat Mar  9 23:00:00 2013 CLT isdst=0 gmtoff=-14400
America/Santiago  Sun Oct 13 03:59:59 2013 UTC = Sat Oct 12 23:59:59 2013 CLT isdst=0 gmtoff=-14400
America/Santiago  Sun Oct 13 04:00:00 2013 UTC = Sun Oct 13 01:00:00 2013 CLST isdst=1 gmtoff=-10800

Expected results:

Changes should take place on April 27th and September 7th, respectively.

--- Additional comment from Petr Machata on 2013-02-19 23:08:20 CET ---

OK, we have about three weeks to push this, so this is not critical for a change.  I'll roll out an update this week.  Upstream is aware.  I'll post a patch tomorrow unless someone else beats me to it.

Comment 5 Lubos Kocman 2013-03-14 13:26:07 UTC
Since the problem described in this bug report should be
resolved in a recent advisory, it has been closed with a
resolution of ERRATA.

For information on the advisory, and where to find the updated
files, follow the link below.

If the solution does not work for you, open a new bug report.

http://rhn.redhat.com/errata/RHEA-2013-0615.html


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.