Bug 924135 - Cannot return to main hub from partitioning if some disks are selected
Cannot return to main hub from partitioning if some disks are selected
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: anaconda (Show other bugs)
19
Unspecified Unspecified
medium Severity high
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Anaconda Maintenance Team
Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
: Reopened
Depends On:
Blocks: fedora19rtt
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-03-21 05:32 EDT by Martin Banas
Modified: 2013-03-21 12:00 EDT (History)
8 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2013-03-21 11:10:37 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)
anaconda.log (8.92 KB, text/plain)
2013-03-21 05:33 EDT, Martin Banas
no flags Details
ifcfg.log (567 bytes, text/plain)
2013-03-21 05:34 EDT, Martin Banas
no flags Details
packaging.log (460.10 KB, text/plain)
2013-03-21 05:34 EDT, Martin Banas
no flags Details
program.log (13.84 KB, text/plain)
2013-03-21 05:34 EDT, Martin Banas
no flags Details
storage.log (117.28 KB, text/plain)
2013-03-21 05:34 EDT, Martin Banas
no flags Details
storage.state (24.00 KB, application/octet-stream)
2013-03-21 05:34 EDT, Martin Banas
no flags Details
syslog (76.67 KB, text/plain)
2013-03-21 05:34 EDT, Martin Banas
no flags Details

  None (edit)
Description Martin Banas 2013-03-21 05:32:40 EDT
Description of problem:
Previously in F18 anaconda there were 2 buttons, one returned user to main hub, and the second one was for partitioning "wizard". Now there is only one button "Done". The behaviour of the button depends on the fact if there's some disk selected or not. I don't think this is much intuitive for the user.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
anaconda-19.12-1
anaconda-19.12-1.boot.iso

How reproducible:
always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Start installation
2. Proceed to main hub
3. Select partitioning spoke
4. Click on Done - you're transfered back to main hub without making any changes
5. Select partitioning spoke again
6. Select some disks and click on Done. You'll be presented with another questions..

Actual results:
"Done" doesn't have consistent behaviour, and IMHO this is very confusing

Expected results:
Let's discuss here what would be a better behaviour. Second button like "next", or some help message would be both options how to solve it.

Additional info:
Comment 1 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 05:33:39 EDT
Created attachment 713678 [details]
anaconda.log
Comment 2 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 05:34:09 EDT
Created attachment 713679 [details]
ifcfg.log
Comment 3 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 05:34:14 EDT
Created attachment 713680 [details]
packaging.log
Comment 4 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 05:34:18 EDT
Created attachment 713681 [details]
program.log
Comment 5 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 05:34:21 EDT
Created attachment 713682 [details]
storage.log
Comment 6 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 05:34:25 EDT
Created attachment 713683 [details]
storage.state
Comment 7 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 05:34:29 EDT
Created attachment 713684 [details]
syslog
Comment 8 Chris Lumens 2013-03-21 09:46:39 EDT
This is working exactly as we want it to work now.  Previously, users found the presence of both a Done and a Finish Partitioning button to be confusing and I don't blame them.  They sound like exactly the same thing, and this is the one place in anaconda where a spoke has a button in the bottom right in addition to the top left.  Weird.

Now, there's only the one button to deal with and we can detect what you've done and whether we need to do anything for you or not.  I'm not going to be making further changes here.
Comment 9 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 09:54:50 EDT
Still I would like to find out if it's confusing for other people as well.. Because of that I wanted to start a discussion.. 

Also, I mentioned that any hint message could also solve this problem.. But because the dialog is already pretty crowded, I don't see any place where to put such message so that it's not disturbing.
Comment 10 Jan Stodola 2013-03-21 10:39:05 EDT
Chris, look at following use case:

1. create custom partitioning and return to the main hub
2. go to the Installation destination spoke

Now change your mind and decide not to make any additional changes. There are two ways how to go back to the main hub:
1. Click on "Done", "Custom partitioning", "Done" and "Accept Changes"
2. Click on "Back"

Unfortunately, the second way is not implemented.

You cannot deselect all disks and click "Done", since anaconda will complain that "No disk selected".
Comment 11 Chris Lumens 2013-03-21 11:10:37 EDT
You already outlined a way to return to the main hub, though.  Done -> Custom -> Done -> Accept.

What you are asking for here is that we optimize for the less common case.  Throughout the development of F18 and after its release, we have gotten feedback that says having the Done and Continue buttons is confusing.  It is.  The changes we have made streamline things for the vast majority of users.

Given that there is a way back to the hub regardless, and that I don't believe very many people are actually going to have to go this way at all, I'm still not going to make any changes here.  I think you guys are just used to having the two buttons given that's how we released it.  We'd always intended to go back and get rid of the one button, we just didn't have a plan for how.
Comment 12 Chris Lumens 2013-03-21 11:23:50 EDT
I just thought of this, though.  What I can do is change the spoke so if you make no changes in the disk selection, go straight back to the hub without doing anything.  That won't solve the complaint that the done button does multiple things, but it will achieve the ultimate goal of getting back to the hub faster.

Besides, that behavior (if you don't change anything, anaconda shouldn't do anything) is what we do on the other spokes.
Comment 13 Martin Banas 2013-03-21 12:00:35 EDT
>> You already outlined a way to return to the main hub, though.  Done -> Custom -> Done -> Accept.

This is not how well designed application should work.

>> What you are asking for here is that we optimize for the less common case.

Yes, it's less common case. But why should users suffer from this when they for example click on "Installation destination" by mistake?

And as I already told you, it's not clear how to return to main hub when you click on "Installation destination". The disk is selected by default if there's only one, and actually there is really nothing which tells you that you have to deselect the drive and hit "Done". I don't say this should be some sort of message, actually this should be clearly visible from the dialog design..

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.