This service will be undergoing maintenance at 00:00 UTC, 2017-10-23 It is expected to last about 30 minutes
Bug 964277 - upgrading virt-manager loses all former preferences
upgrading virt-manager loses all former preferences
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: virt-manager (Show other bugs)
19
Unspecified Unspecified
unspecified Severity unspecified
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Cole Robinson
Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-05-17 13:53 EDT by Eric Blake
Modified: 2013-08-31 12:06 EDT (History)
5 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2013-08-31 12:06:27 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Eric Blake 2013-05-17 13:53:20 EDT
Description of problem:
When upgrading from virt-manager 0.9.5 to 0.10.0, all preferences that had been registered with 0.9.5 are lost.  This means all my previous connections were lost; what annoyed me most was losing a URI to a remote machine, where I had to remember how I had set up the qemu+ssh://remote/system auto-connection in the first place.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
My 'yum history info virt-manager' shows this (yes, I'm on Fedora 18 using fedora-virt-preview, but that means that this bug will hit normal users who go from plain Fedora 18 to Fedora 19 via fedup, unless we fix it before Fedora 19 is finalized)

    Updated     virt-manager-0.9.5-1.fc18.noarch                       @fedora-virt-preview
    Update                   0.10.0-0.4.gitb68faac8.fc18.noarch        @fedora-virt-preview


How reproducible:
Probably 100%; it's hit me on two machines now.

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Set some configuration items in older virt-manager
2. Update to newer virt-manager, and check if the settings are preserved
3.
  
Actual results:
settings are lost across upgrade

Expected results:
even though virt-manager was converted to a newer graphics toolkit, it would be nice if it were able to convert the old settings into the new framework instead of making me start over from scratch

Additional info:
Comment 1 Cole Robinson 2013-05-20 12:23:41 EDT
Yes, known issue. Basically the system we use for storing preferences was completely changed. It's possible to implement this but it's a decent quantity of work and really the worst thing that is lost is connection URIs which you mention. TBH it's very unlikely to ever be implemented unless someone else steps up.

You can see all the previous settings with

gconftool-2 -R /apps/virt-manager

So if there's a hostname your forgot it's buried somewhere in there.
Comment 2 Cole Robinson 2013-08-31 12:06:27 EDT
F19 has been out for a while, and given the general lack of complains we aren't likely going to fix this, just closing it.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.