Red Hat Bugzilla – Bug 983591
Alert "Successfully saved business process" is shown every 30 seconds in feature "Auto Save" is enable
Last modified: 2016-01-08 17:06:25 EST
Description of problem:
If the feature "auto save" is enabled that the designer shows every 30 seconds alert "Successfully saved business process". This should be a interrupting effect for an user.
Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
Steps to Reproduce:
1. create a process
2. enable auto save
Alert every 30 seconds
This should be anonymous like in history section or use same indication like in Visual Validation (leave the icon pressed) or write it in south toolbar.
I don't think removing these notifications is a good thing. However I have changed the timeout of the save messages to be a lot shorter. Since these are already not intrusive to user work, making them shorter makes it better.
Please is able to make this confirmation smaller? Because if an user works on process whose creation takes more than 30 seconds then this alert is shown really every 30 seconds.
It is nice that the alert is shown only if the user works.
It is nice that it is shorter but still you have big green area which takes your attention every 30 second.
Solution should be:
- a grey background for this alert and shorter message (max. 1 line)
- show the alert every 4th invocation of method save (it mean 2 minutes)
Solution depends on the meaning of this alert:
- an user should know the last saved point (then this solution is ok)
- an user does not care about exactly save point and he just know that he does not lost whole work, but just last 30 seconds of work.
This is an user experience issue and it is still valid. There are two types of alerts:
- Process contains no changes since last save.
- Successfully saved business process.
One of them is shown every 30 seconds and it interrupts me when I model a process. I have to look at it to see what Designer says to me.
If this service is on and works properly I just need information about state of:
- service (enabled/disabled)
- file (saved / changed)
which does not interrupt users in their work. These kinds of information are available every time when the user needs it. (Now I have to wait to see which alert will be shown.)
The alert should be only about unexpected behaviour like "The save operation was failed because ..."
This is the low priority issue.