Bug 1016457 - [oVirt][Neutron] Port deleted on VM stop, looses IP data
[oVirt][Neutron] Port deleted on VM stop, looses IP data
Status: CLOSED DUPLICATE of bug 1013491
Product: oVirt
Classification: Community
Component: ovirt-engine-core (Show other bugs)
3.3
Unspecified Unspecified
unspecified Severity unspecified
: ---
: 3.3.1
Assigned To: Mike Kolesnik
network
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-10-08 04:27 EDT by Mike Kolesnik
Modified: 2013-10-09 01:37 EDT (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2013-10-09 01:37:24 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Mike Kolesnik 2013-10-08 04:27:24 EDT
Description of problem:
The port on the external network gets deleted when VM is stopped.
This causes the IP details (internal + floating IP, if associated) to be lost, and when VM will start again new IP will be assigned (not necessarily the one from before).


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:
Always


Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create VM with a vNIC attached to an external network provided by an 'OpenStack Network' provider
2. Run the VM
3. Stop the VM

Actual results:
The port is deleted from the external network


Expected results:
The port for the vNIC should remain on the external network


Additional info:
The new behavior is documented on the feature page:
http://www.ovirt.org/Features/Detailed_OSN_Integration#Integration_with_virtual_NIC_lifecycle

Extract:
"The port will be deleted in these cases:

    The virtual NIC is deleted from the VM.
    The virtual VNIC profile is changed, so that it is no longer connected to the external network.
    The VM is deleted.
    The data center containing the external networks is deleted forcefully.
    Snapshot operations (Preview, Undo) on the VM. "
Comment 1 Mike Kolesnik 2013-10-09 01:37:24 EDT

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 1013491 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.