Bug 1315853 - Dashboard - Add/remove widget changes should not be persistent until 'Save Dashboard' is clicked
Dashboard - Add/remove widget changes should not be persistent until 'Save Da...
Status: CLOSED DUPLICATE of bug 1321105
Product: Red Hat Satellite 6
Classification: Red Hat
Component: Dashboard (Show other bugs)
6.2.0
Unspecified Unspecified
unspecified Severity medium (vote)
: Unspecified
: --
Assigned To: satellite6-bugs
sthirugn@redhat.com
: Reopened, Triaged
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2016-03-08 14:00 EST by sthirugn@redhat.com
Modified: 2017-04-25 12:17 EDT (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2017-03-12 04:08:23 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description sthirugn@redhat.com 2016-03-08 14:00:19 EST
Description of problem:
Dashboard - Add/remove widget changes should not be persistent until 'Save Dashboard' is clicked

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
Satellite 6.2.0-beta-snap2.1

How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Login to Satellite UI
2. Navigate to Monitor -> Dashboard 
3. Add or remove a widget
4. Log out and log back in

Actual results:
Add or remove widget changes are saved automatically without clicking 'Save Dashboard'

Expected results:
Add or remove widget changes should not be saved automatically until the user clicks 'Manage' -> 'Save Dashboard' link

Additional info:
Currently minimize/restore settings work fine, i.e., the changes are temporary and persists only when 'Save Dashboard' link is clicked.
Comment 2 Justin Sherrill 2016-03-24 12:44:14 EDT
I'd prefer if we don't have a save button it seems more intuitive.  A user may not know about the save button and refresh the page.  I think its safer to auto save and not require a manual save.
Comment 4 Roxanne Hoover 2016-11-30 09:28:09 EST
There are two correct solutions from a UX perspective: 

1.Keep the save button and make save manual.

2.Remove the save button and go with auto-save.


From my understanding of this context, an auto-save would not be harmful. Other areas where data is being manipulated auto-save is riskier because the user may have made a mistake or was toying around. A manual save would acknowledge the volition of their choice. 

However a dashboard is an area where they determine what they want displayed and are not necessarily manipulating anything significant. It's also worth pointing out that they get a confirmation dialogue upon deleting any element, which offers better assurance that they are not mistakingly deleting something. Also - adding the widget back is fairly clear. The save button is also not clearly visible - basically I expected auto-save since I didn't see a save button without activating the drop down.
Comment 5 Tomer Brisker 2016-11-30 10:04:44 EST
Closing per #4 as this is expected behaviour. Possible removal of the save option from the menu is not directly related to this issue as it does have an effect currently when minimizing widgets which should be dealt with separately.
Comment 6 sthirugn@redhat.com 2016-11-30 10:31:19 EST
Disagree with CLOSED -> WONTFIX resolution.  Instead I will change this bug to represent what has been recommended in Comment 4:

New bug description:
*******************
Dashboard inconsistencies - Fixes to be made:

1. Auto-save minimize/restore settings to be consistent with add/remove widget action.
2. Remove 'Save Dashboard' link.
Comment 7 Tomer Brisker 2017-03-12 04:08:23 EDT
Closing as duplicate of bz1321105 which has already been merged upstream - minimize/restore has been unified with add/remove, and save button changed to "save positions" as it only saves changes to widget positions (add/removes already saves when clicked).

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 1321105 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.