With this update, it is now possible to configure discard after delete per block storage domain, rather than per host. Existing documentation (if any) must be updated.
Previously, a user could get similar functionality by configuring the discard_enable parameter in the VDSM configuration file. This caused each logical volume (disk or snapshot) that was about to be removed by this specific host to be discarded first. Now, discard after delete can be enabled for a block storage domain, rather than a host. This means that if discard after delete is enabled it no longer matters which host removes the logical volume as each logical volume under this domain will be discarded before it is removed.
More information is available at the following locations:
Assigning to Megan for review.
This bug only covers the docs changes for the Discard After Delete feature.
1. Changes to how Wipe After Delete works
- No docs changes are currently being tracked for this feature
2. New Discard After Delete for block storage
- Docs changes being tracked in this bug.
3. New Enable Discard for virtual machine disks
- Docs changes are tracked here: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1422158
The changes for this bug are now published.
Virtual Machine Management Guide: