Bug 375251 - Deleting user does not delete files in /tmp, even if box is checked.
Deleting user does not delete files in /tmp, even if box is checked.
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: system-config-users (Show other bugs)
All Linux
low Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Nils Philippsen
Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
Depends On:
  Show dependency treegraph
Reported: 2007-11-10 19:49 EST by Justyn Butler
Modified: 2007-11-30 17:12 EST (History)
0 users

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Last Closed: 2007-11-10 20:04:40 EST
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---

Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Justyn Butler 2007-11-10 19:49:03 EST
Description of problem:
Exactly the same as FC2 closed bug #126756: "deleting users home directory
leaves user files in /tmp"

Using system-config-users I deleted a user, selecting the box to delete their
home directory, mail spool and temporary files. I can confirm that the home
directory was definitely deleted, I did not check the mail spool.

I then created a new user with the same username (but different UID and GID),
which appeared to work fine, but the resulting user could not log into Gnome
(many,many errors on login) due to /tmp/gconf-[username] being left over from
the previous user (with a different UID).

There were two other folders left in /tmp from the deleted user:
pulse-[username] and mapping-[username].

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable): 1.2.72

How reproducible: 100%

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create user, log into Gnome as that user.
2. Delete user with system-config-users, tick the box to delete users home,
spool and temp files also.
3. Add a new user with system-config-users with identical username but different
UID and GID.
4. Try to log into Gnome.
You can see that folders like gconf-[username] in /tmp are still owned by the
previous UID.
Actual results:

Expected results:

Additional info:
Comment 1 Nils Philippsen 2007-11-11 13:37:17 EST
These are written by the still running gconfd. Really, s-c-users shouldn't let a
user delete him- or herself.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.