Bug 470357 - anaconda NM section is overly verbose, and just plain wrong
Summary: anaconda NM section is overly verbose, and just plain wrong
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED RAWHIDE
Alias: None
Product: Fedora Documentation
Classification: Fedora
Component: release-notes
Version: devel
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
urgent
urgent
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Release Notes Tracker
QA Contact: Karsten Wade
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks: fc-relnotes-traqr
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2008-11-06 20:34 UTC by Bill Nottingham
Modified: 2014-03-17 03:16 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2008-11-07 02:31:36 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Bill Nottingham 2008-11-06 20:34:25 UTC
Provide details here.  Do not change the blocking bug.

It currently says:

  Changes in Anaconda

    * NetConfig in NM -- Anaconda is now using NetworkManager for configuring network interfaces during installation. The previous backend tool was libdhcp, which was a replacement for libpump. Anaconda uses NetworkManager by communicating with it via D-Bus during installation. The move to NetworkManager in Anaconda is still ongoing, but the bulk of existing functionality has been retained. NetworkManager is enabled by default on newly installed systems, so moving to NetworkManager in Anaconda allows the installer to use the same network management tool that the final system uses. The move to NetworkManager brings some changes, most notably the removal of the network interface configuration screen in Anaconda. You are no longer asked to verify the network settings during installation. The screen now simply prompts for the hostname. The settings used during installation are written to the system. 

I'd rewrite it as:

Changes in Anaconda

 * NetworkManager for Networking -- Anaconda is now using NetworkManager for configuration of network interfaces during installation. The main network interface configuration screen in Anaconda has been removed; users will only be prompted for network configuration details if they are necessary during installation. The settings used during installation are then written to the system.

Comment 1 Karsten Wade 2008-11-07 02:31:36 UTC
Yep, good point and replacement content.  Fixed in XML.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.