Bug 69712 - RFE: delete user confirmation dialog with related options
RFE: delete user confirmation dialog with related options
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Product: Red Hat Linux
Classification: Retired
Component: redhat-config-users (Show other bugs)
9
i386 Linux
medium Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Brent Fox
: FutureFeature
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2002-07-24 14:55 EDT by David Lawrence
Modified: 2007-04-18 12:44 EDT (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Enhancement
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2004-02-02 13:17:20 EST
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description David Lawrence 2002-07-24 14:55:08 EDT
Description of Problem:
When removing a user from the system, currently it just does it without
confirmation. A dialog should pop up asking if you really want to delete the
user.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
Milan-re0724.nightly
Comment 1 Mike McLean 2002-08-13 19:48:57 EDT
We really ought to get this in.
Comment 2 Brent Fox 2002-08-16 17:56:44 EDT
Sorry, there was no time for this release.  I will try to get this for the next
release.  Deferring for now.
Comment 3 Mike McLean 2003-01-15 21:11:42 EST
re-opening.
Comment 4 Mike McLean 2003-01-15 21:42:28 EST
It would be really nice to merge the fixes from bug 78620 and bug 78619 into a
single confirmation dialog with checkboxes for deleting the user's group (if
appropriate) and home directory.

Something like 
+---------------------------------------------+
|            DELETING user xxxxxx             |
+---------------------------------------------+
|    [  ]  Delete private group xxxxxx        |
|    [  ]  Delete home directory /home/xxxxxx |
|                                             |
|     +--------+         +----------+         |
|     | Cancel |         |  Delete  |         |
|     +--------+         +----------+         |
+---------------------------------------------+

Maybe with a little extra warning text.
Comment 5 Brent Fox 2003-01-31 16:47:04 EST
I think the behavior noted in bug #78620 should be acceptable.  Please reopen if
it is not.

Basically, it deletes the group if the user is the only user in that group.  It
does this automatically without the need for a dialog box, so the existing
dialog box about deleting the home directory should suffice. 
redhat-config-users-1.1.4-1 should have the new behavior.
Comment 7 Brent Fox 2003-06-02 16:01:02 EDT
Try with redhat-config-users-1.1.9-1 and see if that is better.  Confirmation
dialogs should appear now on deleting users and groups.
Comment 8 David Lawrence 2004-02-02 13:17:20 EST
Verified, at least with RHEL 3 these changes are added.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.