Bug 1082840 - RFE: As a project maintainer I want to be able to delete a project or project version from Zanata
Summary: RFE: As a project maintainer I want to be able to delete a project or project...
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Alias: None
Product: Zanata
Classification: Retired
Component: DatabaseChange
Version: 3.0
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
high
medium
Target Milestone: ---
: 3.7
Assignee: Patrick Huang
QA Contact: Zanata-QA Mailling List
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords: Triaged
: 1196453 1211021 (view as bug list)
Depends On: 1211849
Blocks: 1155361 1211851
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2014-03-31 23:10 UTC by Isaac Rooskov
Modified: 2015-08-06 05:55 UTC (History)
8 users (show)

(edit)
Clone Of:
(edit)
Last Closed: 2015-07-22 02:19:58 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)


External Trackers
Tracker ID Priority Status Summary Last Updated
Red Hat Bugzilla 988346 None None None Never
Red Hat Bugzilla 1082918 None None None Never
Red Hat Bugzilla 1196453 None None None Never
Red Hat Bugzilla 1211021 None None None Never
Red Hat Bugzilla 1211849 None None None Never
Red Hat Bugzilla 1211851 None None None Never


Description Isaac Rooskov 2014-03-31 23:10:23 UTC
Description of problem:

As a project maintainer I want to be able to delete a project or project version from Zanata:

- Currently there is no way to actually delete or remove a project from Zanata. Projects can be hidden from translators, but they cannot be deleted

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
3.0

How reproducible:
100%

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create a project
2. Try to delete it
3.

Actual results:
Cannot delete

Expected results:
Delete

Additional info:

Comment 1 Alex Eng 2015-04-12 08:35:32 UTC
This feature should be just the deletion of project/version without any backup.

Comment 2 Alex Eng 2015-04-12 08:35:37 UTC
*** Bug 1196453 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***

Comment 3 Alex Eng 2015-04-15 05:52:02 UTC
Points from discussion:

- Open up 'archived' feature to project maintainers.
- Confirmation message - when maintainers trying to delete project/version (maintainer have to type in project/version name)

Comment 4 Alex Eng 2015-04-15 05:55:19 UTC
- make slug reusable - change slug append prefix/postfix (sequence, inaccessibe char, colon, timestamp) - recycle it (enhancement, delete after 30 days)

Comment 5 Alex Eng 2015-04-15 05:57:08 UTC
*** Bug 1211021 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***

Comment 6 David Mason 2015-04-22 03:48:34 UTC
What to implement (from dev team discussion):

 - Assume that allowing change project/version slug is already done.
 - The “Archive this project” button on project settings will change to a “Delete this project” button.
   - The description makes clear that it is permanent delete
 - Maintainers can see and click the “Delete this project” button.
 - There is a modal/popup to get through before delete will happen, with adequate barrier to accidental click.
   - The modal indicates that this may be permanent delete.
 - When delete happens:
   - the person who deleted will be redirected to the dashboard (if it was a project), or to the parent project (if it was a version).
   - the project or version is no longer visible to anyone (including admin and maintainer), in any project list etc. (this means the obsolete checkbox on project list will be removed).
   - the slug is available for use in a new project/version
 - Technical note: make sure the data is still in a form that will work for the restore feature is implemented.

Comment 7 Patrick Huang 2015-05-20 23:28:39 UTC
https://github.com/zanata/zanata-server/pull/808

Comment 8 Damian Jansen 2015-05-31 23:52:20 UTC
Verified at 8ac9d995bc4c05c7165cff250e77a07a4d830e5a


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.