Bug 983634 - Problem with collaboration of two and more users on the one process definition
Problem with collaboration of two and more users on the one process definition
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Product: JBoss BPMS Platform 6
Classification: JBoss
Component: jBPM Designer (Show other bugs)
6.0.0
Unspecified Unspecified
high Severity urgent
: ER1
: 6.0.1
Assigned To: Tihomir Surdilovic
Sona Mala
:
Depends On: 983661 1049284 1049290
Blocks: 999950
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-07-11 11:15 EDT by Sona Mala
Modified: 2014-08-06 16:02 EDT (History)
6 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
In the Designer, the last changed user field for a process always defaults to 'admin' irrespective of who made the last change on that process. This causes a conflict dialog to be shown when saving the process irrespective of whether one person has done the modification or two. Cause: Consequence: Fix: Result:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2014-08-06 16:02:15 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Sona Mala 2013-07-11 11:15:19 EDT
Description of problem:
There is no update mechanism in Designer if collaborate two users on one process definition in the same time. User always rewrite the process by the his local definition. So win the last save.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
6.0.0 DR6

How reproducible:


Steps to Reproduce:
1. both user open process definition
2. user1: create process Start("MyStart") -> User Task("My User") -> End
3. user2: create process Start -> Task -> End
4. user1: save a process
5. user2: save a process
6. user1: delete End and add Task ("AAA") -> End
7. user2: change property "Name" of Task to "BBB"
8. user2: save a process
9. user1: save a process and close Designer
10: user1: open designer

Actual results:
The user1 can see a different process:
Start->Task("BBB")->End

Expected results:
Some notification about conflict:
  - merging mechanism
  - update designer if a process is saved
  - etc.


Additional info:
GIT repository log says that commit "Updated asset BPMN2-ConditionalStart.bpmn2" is always done by same user (admin <null>).
Comment 1 Alexandre Porcelli 2013-09-16 19:10:09 EDT
This issue was partially solved by the following ticket: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=999950

In order to fix this at desginer it's necessary to follow email instructions sent to bsig group.
Comment 2 Prakash Aradhya 2013-09-16 21:55:15 EDT
OK.. so, can we make sure all major tools follow the steps provided  ?

Internal Whiteboard: Beta Blocker → Blocker
Not critical for Beta, but need to address for GA
Comment 6 Kris Verlaenen 2013-11-26 21:55:33 EST
Fixed by https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=999950
Comment 7 Sona Mala 2014-01-14 05:03:23 EST
blocked by another issue.
Comment 8 Kris Verlaenen 2014-01-21 11:08:16 EST
Seems the depending issue is already verified, setting back ON_QA
Comment 9 Sona Mala 2014-01-23 09:40:40 EST
I verified that the dialog which resolves conflicts is shown up and options "Force Save" and "Re-open" work fine.

But there is one problem that an user does not know who changes that process. There is still user name "admin" no matter which user has saved the process. 

Same conflict dialog is shown even if the process is modified by one person.

So there is no difference between single user modification and modification by two and more person.
Comment 11 Tihomir Surdilovic 2014-01-24 12:51:58 EST
the associated issue with admin user save by designer has already been fixed (https://github.com/droolsjbpm/jbpm-designer/commit/157325157707f2fc724ea8f29343a6184c78df00) -- BZ 1049290
Comment 12 Lukáš Petrovický 2014-02-07 11:19:19 EST
This no longer has a target release of 6.0.0.
Comment 13 Sona Mala 2014-03-11 08:47:28 EDT
I verify that a conflict dialog contains right user for 6.0.1 ER2 BPMS. (Not just admin user).

Now conflict dialog works as was expected:
   - show correct user
   - options 'Force Save' and 'Re-open' works properly


Unfortunately, one problem still persist but it will be described by another bugzilla issue.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.